MOSS SKIRT

Another grainline studio pattern. What can I say, they are nice and the instructions are fantastic.

photo 2 (15)

photo 1 (16)

Some key things –

1. The fly front steps (and tutorial) for this skirt were great and even though this was my first time making one, I didn’t think it was too bad. It was actually going fantastically well till I realized I’d sewn in the zipper upside down! That was a aaaarrrghhh moment and I had to re-do it all over again.

2. I’m not sure how to add that little mark where the fly shield, front etc all are to be sewn together at the bottom of the curve. My needle just wouldn’t move. Maybe it all got a bit too thick?

3. The automatic one step buttonhole on my machine would only do one round and it took me a while to figure out how to get it down right, so my skirt was sitting around without a top button and I was very tempted to just put hook and eye closure. I searched high and lo to find a solution but it worked out in the end. The trick was to not put my machine name in when googling and viola, a video which said that you also have to move the length to the F – 0 setting. And done. I only re-did the buttonhole four times after this. What can I say, I’m a quick learner.

photo 1 (8)

Fabric: Fabulous linen from Arbuda Matching Centre in Ahmedabad for Rs. 200 / metre and bought a total of 2m as the width was a bit less. Could’ve done with1.5m in the end. Pocket lining from scrap fabric from some other project.

Notions: Zipper for Rs. 10 and thread for Rs. 5, for a grant total of Rs. 215 which is $3.5 (although I should add the pattern which was for $9 I think, but it is nice to delude myself in to thinking I made it for $3.5)

Time: 6 – 7 hours, includes redoing the zipper and time spent swearing

Leave a Reply

