IKAT SCOUT WITH SLEEVES

And once again, another grainline studio pattern. I may or may not be crazy in love with her patterns. Anyway the key things –

1. I used this most gorgeous ikat chiffon found at my new favourite fabric shop – Arbuda Matching Centre in Ahmedabad. I cut it sandwiched between old newspapers and it cut great (almost). Finished all seams (except sleeve) using french seams and hand rolled the neckline hem as I didn’t want to add bias binding after my last disaster. I think it will take me a while to try bias binding again.

2. I elongated the sleeves using this tutorial and also cut a slight boat neck vs the round, although I think the front part became a bit too low but eh, whatever! I added two small pleats in the front and a string in the back to bring back some balance.

Here are photos, some in my favourite buddha position!

photo 1 (11) photo 2 (11) photo 3 (7)

photo 4 (1) photo 1 (9)

Probably my best french seams and hem (on delicate fabric) by far

Fabric: Beautiful chiffon ikat from Arbuda Matching Centre in Ahmedabad for Rs. 250 / metre and bought a total of 2m as the width was a bit less.

Notions: Thread for Rs. 5, for a grant total of Rs. 505 which is $8 (+ the pattern for $6.5)

Time: 4 – 5 hours

2 thoughts on “IKAT SCOUT WITH SLEEVES

  1. Looks as if your attempts at cutting and sewing are paying off. Nice work! I am compelled, however to mention that the “ikat” fabric you chose is a computer print, a copy of a real, hand-loomed ikat that is meticulously tied and dyed. I have worked with hand-loom weavers all around the globe for many years, designing ikats and other textiles. It breaks my heart that the real thing is turning into a dying art and too expensive for the average person. The ikats of Patan,Gujarat are famous, as are the ikats of Andhra Pradesh and Orissa. I hope that you will consider buying handloom textiles in the future. Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

