A (MODIFIED) TINY POCKET TANK TOP

I think Grainline Studio is fantastic. Their patterns, tutorials, and their past clothing line – hound, all of it. I was browsing around the web and came across a pretty tank top from hound, which looked to be a similar cut to the “tiny pocket tank” by Grainline. I cut a triangle at the fold, added seam allowance to the tiny pocket tank pattern, and just like that, a new pattern was born. Here’s the result.

022366e2ca30a6055ffb8d89942f6287  photo (4)

Fabric: 1m reddish-pick and 1m white butter crepe fabric. Both for Rs. 50 / metre from a “matching centre” in Ahmedabad. I was lazy and couldn’t be bothered to come up with a new colour combination although I did think about it which should count for something

Time: 7 – 8 hours! This was also my first time sewing with crepe, which more than tripled the amount of time required. I also did french seams all over. I wonder if there is an easier way to do bias binding with crepe fabric – that was one horrendous part. I ended up swearing at the machine a couple of times which is no fun. The top right bit of the triangle in the front is so messed up and so is the entire neckline. I realised too late that I forgot to understitch!

Anyway, while it doesn’t look as nice as the hound version and the top of the triangle doesn’t match, it will do for now.

One thought on “A (MODIFIED) TINY POCKET TANK TOP

  1. What a cute take on the Scout. When I bias bind slippery fabric sometimes I’ll use a cotton-silk blend fabric to make the bias binding. It’s really stable but has a similar weight/feel to most silks and rayon. And I’m happy to have one less slippery fabric to deal with!

Leave a Reply

