JOINING THE PRAISE ARCHER GROUP

The second time I bought a pattern was also from Grainline Studio, after (almost) making a shirt at my sewing class. There are two main reasons why I am going to leave that unfinished – terrible pattern and terrible pattern. But, the archer looked so nice on the bazillion bloggers who have made it and I love a nice shirt. If you could have a look at what I wear regularly, you would see a lot of shirts. I think I have a good sense of what my style is like and while I do step out of the comfort zone every once in a while, I like to stick to the styles I love. Anyway, so I was really excited to make the archer but then I had to be home in Ahmedabad without my Brother or even the industrial juki from class in Manila and all that I had was this vintage beauty owned by our cook, who bought it for Rs. 500! Thankfully he lent it to me as it was laying unused for ~10 years!

photo 1 (3)

There was also no fusing available in the city, or if it is available, it is definitely called something else. I decided to just use the fabric as fusing and off I went. I am probably a size 0 on top and 2 in the hips, but I like things to be a little loose and so went with size 2 overall. Here are the results.

photo 2 (5)

I loved making the first one so much, I made an archer shirt dress as well. The main change I made for the shirt dress was extending the length by 11″. I extended below the waist (?)  notch because I didn’t want to alter the shoulder to waist bit. I also skipped the cuff as I knew I would wear the sleeves folded up, so just made a “hem” on the sleeve by folding it up 1/2″, then 1″ and topstitching. You can tell I am fluent in sewing language.

photo 1 (2) photo 2 (4)

In the photos the fabric looks plain black, but it’s a great shade of navy with small round embroidery. Also, the hem looks wonky bit it’s actually not too shabby!

photo 3 (3)

Fabric: 2m of bright yellow printed rayon at Rs. 200 per metre for the shirt. 2.5 – 3m of navy blue fabric with self-embroidery at Rs. 100 per metre for the shirt dress. Both fabric are from my favourite Mangaldas / Crawford market.

Notions: Buttons were Rs. 50 for both shirts, probably less. Mum bought them from a local shop in Ahmedabad. Grannys threads, which she got along with her when she got married about 60 or so years ago!

Time: 5 – 6 hours for the shirt and 5 – 6 hours for the shirtdress (with french seams all over!)

I’m definitely going to make another archer in the future, but I would like the shoulders to be not so droopy so will make some changes there. Maybe will also grade from 0 on top to 2 at the bottom. Anyway, I’m pleased for now. Thank you Jen (Grainline) for the fantastic pattern.

Leave a Reply

