A ROBE

I’ve wanted a gorgeous robe for the longest of times, and the ones that I’ve liked have typically been in the $400 -$500 range. Case in point, the Emerson Fry robe below for only $495 (which later got reduced to $295). I still wouldn’t buy it at $295.

40c359a3ab318d9fdea391241184daf1

So what does someone who has recently learnt to barely sew do? Decide to sew one, of course. What’s the fun in making simple stuff when you can try and attack a complicated fully lined robe? Anyway, so I looked around the net for some free information, because I am a kanjus at heart, and Petit Republic came to my rescue. I modified the massive kimono sleeves and skipped the collar + belt option, plus added the white lining using whatever I thought would work best, which actually didn’t turn out too shabby. The same cannot be said for the stitching but I do want to make one again. For now, have a look at some not so great photos which conveniently hide my terrible stitching.

photo 3  photo 2 (2)

Despite everything I am happy with it and wear the robe a lot!

 

2 thoughts on “A ROBE

Leave a Reply

